

Board of Directors

ACTION SUMMARY Official

Meeting October 15, 2015

1:00 P.M.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS HEARING ROOM COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 105 EAST ANAPAMU STREET SANTA BARBARA, CA

APCD Board Members

Santa Barbara County
Board of Supervisors
Salud Carbajal, First District
Janet Wolf, Second District, Chair
Doreen Farr, Third District
Peter Adam, Fourth District, Vice-Chair
Steve Lavagnino, Fifth District

City of Buellton Mayor Holly Sierra Alternate, Vice Mayor Ed Andrisek

City of Carpinteria Councilmember Al Clark Alternate, Councilmember Wade Nomura

City of Goleta
Councilmember Michael T. Bennett
Alternate, Councilmember Roger Aceves

City of Guadalupe Mayor John Lizalde Alternate, Councilmember Jerry Beatty

City of Lompoc Mayor Pro Tem DeWayne Holmdahl Alternate, Mayor Bob Lingl

City of Santa Barbara Mayor Helene Schneider Alternate, Councilmember Bendy White

City of Santa Maria Mayor Alice Patino Alternate, Councilmember Etta Waterfield

City of Solvang
Mayor Jim Richardson
Alternate, Councilmember Ed Skytt

I. 1:03 p.m. - Convened by Chair Wolf - Roll Call

Present: 12 - Carbajal (arrived during Closed Session),

Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett,

Lizalde, Holmdahl, White, Patino,

Richardson.

Absent: 1 - Clark.

- II. Pledge of Allegiance
- III. Closed Session

Closed Session was moved to the end of the meeting, immediately following the Discussion item section.

V. Approval of minutes of the June 18, 2015 meeting (Continued from August 20, 2015).

A motion was made by Board member Bennett, seconded by Board member Adam that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett,

Lizalde, Holmdahl, White, Patino,

Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

Clerk of the APCD Board:

Louis D. Van Mullem, Jr.

VI. Approval of minutes of the August 20, 2015 meeting.

A motion was made by Board member Holmdahl, seconded by Board member Bennett that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

VII. Approval of minutes of the September 18, 2015 special meeting.

A motion was made by Board member Lizalde, seconded by Board member Patino that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

ADMINISTRATIVE

Approved by vote on one motion. These items read only on request of Board members.

Chris Slaughter, Executive Director at the Santa Maria Discovery Museum, spoke briefly on item A-6.

- A-1) Receive and file the summary of the emission-reduction grant agreements approved by the Air Pollution Control Officer for the period of August 7, 2015 through October 1, 2015 in accordance with Board Resolution Number 02-16, including:
 - a) Lompoc Unified School District Lower Emission School Bus Replacement and Retrofit Program.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be received and filed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

A-2) Receive and file the summary of notices of violation issued and penalty revenue received during the months of August and September 2015.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be received and filed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

A-3) Approve the APCD Board of Directors regular meeting schedule for 2016.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White, Patino, Richardson.

0 - None.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

A-4) Approve a contract amendment of \$250,000 in additional spending authorization for Perry's Auto Wrecking & Salvage of Lompoc to assist in the implementation of the Old Car Buy Back Program.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

A-5) Approve changes as follows:

- a) Adopt revised class specifications entitled Air Quality Specialist I/II/III, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk and Accounting Supervisor; and
- b) Approve and adopt a Resolution which amends the District's Classification and Salary Plan to:
 - i. Delete two (2) Emissions Inventory/Planning Specialist III positions;
 - ii. Add two (2) Air Quality Specialist III positions;
 - iii. Rename one (1) Executive Secretary/Board Clerk position to Executive Assistant/Board Clerk;
 - iv. Adjust salary for the Executive Assistant/Board Clerk Position; and
 - v. Rename one (1) Supervising Accountant to Accounting Supervisor.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be acted on as follows:

- a) Approved; and
- b) i. through v. Approved, Adopted APCD Resolution No. 15-24.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

A-6) Authorize the Chair to sign a Memorandum of Agreement with the Santa Maria Valley Discovery Museum to display an educational hands-on exhibit on the movement of air and air quality.

A motion was made by Board member Richardson, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Sierra, Bennett, Lizalde, Holmdahl, White,

Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Carbajal, Clark.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Persons desiring to address the APCD Board on any subject within the jurisdiction of the Board that is not included as part of the agenda must complete and deliver to the Clerk the "Request to Speak" form which is available at the Hearing Room entrance prior to the commencement of this comment period. Comments shall be limited to fifteen minutes, divided among those desiring to speak, but no person shall speak longer than three minutes.

There were no public comments.

DISCUSSION

There were no Discussion items.

III. Closed Session (Continued from above) – Convened at 1:10 p.m.

Board member Carbajal arrived during closed session.

C-1) Public Employee Appointment (Gov. Code § 54957(b)(1).).

Title: Air Pollution Control Officer.

IV. Reconvened at 3:36 p.m. – Report from Closed Session

There was no reportable action taken.

ADJOURN – The meeting was adjourned at 3:37 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Board will be held at 1:00 p.m. on December 17, 2015 in the Board of Supervisors Hearing Room, County Administrative Building, 105 East Anapamu Street, Santa Barbara, CA.