

Our Vision 👋 Clean Air

ACTION SUMMARY Official

March 20, 2014

1:00 P.M.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS HEARING ROOM BETTERAVIA GOVERNMENT CENTER 511 EAST LAKESIDE PARKWAY SANTA MARIA, CA

I. 1:00 p.m. – Convene – Roll Call

- Present: 10 Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Bennett, White, Patino, Richardson.
- Absent: 3 Clark, Lizalde, Costa.

Vice-Chair Wolf acted as Chair. Board members Carbajal and White participated remotely from Santa Barbara. Roll call votes were taken for each item.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

III. Closed Session

There was no closed session.

IV. Reconvene – Report from Closed Session

No report necessary since there was no closed session.

V. Approval of minutes of the February 20, 2014 meeting.

A motion was made by Board member Bennett, seconded by Board member Farr that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote.

> Ayes: 8 - Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Bennett, Patino, Richardson.

Noes: 0 - None.

- Abstain: 2 Dale, White.
- Absent: 3 Clark, Lizalde, Costa.

Clerk of the APCD Board:

Louis D. Van Mullem, Jr.

APCD Board Members

Board of Directors

Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors Salud Carbajal, First District Janet Wolf, Second District, Vice-Chair Doreen Farr, Third District Peter Adam, Fourth District Steve Lavagnino, Fifth District

City of Buellton Councilmember Holly Sierra, Chair *Alternate*, Councilmember Judith Dale

City of Carpinteria Councilmember Al Clark *Alternate*, Councilmember Wade Nomura

City of Goleta Mayor Michael T. Bennett *Alternate*, Councilmember Roger Aceves

City of Guadalupe Councilmember John Lizalde *Alternate*, Councilmember Gina Rubalcaba-Almaguer

City of Lompoc Mayor Pro Tem Ashley Costa *Alternate*, Councilmember DeWayne Holmdahl

City of Santa Barbara Mayor Helene Schneider *Alternate*, Councilmember Bendy White

City of Santa Maria Mayor Alice Patino *Alternate*, Mayor Pro Tem Jack Boysen

City of Solvang Mayor Jim Richardson Alternate, Mayor Pro Tem Ed Skytt

ADMINISTRATIVE

Approved by vote on one motion. These items read only on request of Board members.

Pursuant to Board member Farr's request, agenda item A-3 was pulled from the Administrative agenda and considered separately.

A-1) Receive and file the summary of the emission-reduction grant agreements approved by the Air Pollution Control Officer for the period of December 31, 2013 through March 6, 2014 in accordance with Board Resolution Number 02-16.

A motion was made by Board member Bennett, seconded by Board member Adam that this matter be received and filed. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	10 -	Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Bennett, White, Patino,
		Richardson.
Noes:	0 -	None.

Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 3 - Clark, Lizalde, Costa.

A-2) Receive and file the summary of notices of violation issued and penalty revenue received during the months of January and February 2014.

A motion was made by Board member Bennett, seconded by Board member Adam that this matter be received and filed. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	10 -	Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Bennett, White, Patino,
		Richardson.

- Noes: 0 None.
- Abstain: 0 None.
- Absent: 3 Clark, Lizalde, Costa.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Persons desiring to address the APCD Board on any subject within the jurisdiction of the Board that is not included as part of the agenda must complete and deliver to the Clerk the "Request to Speak" form which is available at the Hearing Room entrance prior to the commencement of this comment period. Comments shall be limited to fifteen minutes, divided among those desiring to speak, but no person shall speak longer than three minutes.

Dave Van Mullem, APCO, announced that the APCD will be conducting 2 workshops next month in order to receive comments to update our CEQA guidelines to include GHG stationary threshold.

DISCUSSION

A-3) Receive and file the current APCD Organizational Chart.

A motion was made by Board member Farr, seconded by Board member Bennett that this matter be received and filed. The motion carried by the following vote.

- Ayes: 10 Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Bennett, White, Patino, Richardson.
- Noes: 0 None.
- Abstain: 0 None.
- Absent: 3 Clark, Lizalde, Costa.

1) Adopt a Resolution of Appreciation for the Santa Barbara County Education Office for its partnership with the District on teacher grants programs since 2003.

Board member Clark arrived during this presentation and participated remotely from Santa Barbara.

A motion was made by Board member Farr, seconded by Board member Richardson that this matter be approved. Adopted APCD Resolution No. 14-05. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 11 - Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Clark, Bennett, White, Patino, Richardson.

Noes:	0 -	None.
Abstain:	0 -	None.
Absent:	2 -	Lizalde, Costa.

2) <u>APCD Board Chair Item</u>: Discuss and consider scheduling an agenda item for a future presentation by a specialist in the field of climate change.

A motion was made by Board member Carbajal, seconded by Board member Lavagnino that the Community Environmental Council set up a presentation by a climate change specialist and schedule it for a future APCD Board meeting. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	10 -	Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Clark, Bennett, White, Richardson.
Noes:	1 -	
Abstain:		
	-	Lizalde, Costa.

3) (Continued from February 20, 2014) Consider the following actions regarding Offsets:

a) Receive staff's analysis on the Offsets Workgroup options; and

b) Direct the Control Officer to proceed with public workshops and Community Advisory Council meetings in order to develop rule revisions to address the offsets issue.

A motion was made by Board member Carbajal, seconded by Board member Bennett directing the Control Officer to proceed with public workshops and Community Advisory Council meetings on all options provided during the presentation, with the exception that option 3 be rolled into option 2 and that the 2013 Clean Air Plan be worked on concurrently and brought back to the Board. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	11 -	Carbajal, Wolf, Farr, Adam, Lavagnino, Dale, Clark, Bennett, White, Patino,
		Richardson.
Noes:	0 -	None.

Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 2 - Lizalde, Costa.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:39 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee will meet immediately following the conclusion of this Board of Directors meeting.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Board will be held at 1:00 p.m. on May 15, 2014 in the Board of Supervisors Hearing Room, Betteravia Government Center, 511 East Lakeside Parkway, Santa Maria, CA.