DRAFT

Minutes of The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Community Advisory Council

July 11, 2007

- **I.** The meeting and public workshop were called to order at 6:37 p.m.
- II. Roll Call

There was a quorum in attendance. Thirteen members were present.

III. Approval of Minutes

Motion to approve June 13, 2007 minutes.

Moldaver/Surmeier Motion Passed: 11:0:2

Abstain: Farina, Winters

IV. Public Comment

Lee Moldaver announced that CAC member Bob Kober was honored by the Board of Supervisors for a mining reclamation project: "gravel to grapes".

Kevin Wright asked about a District policy regarding equivalent equipment and routine replacement. Terry Dressler responded that it will be discussed when the Rule 202 and 333 revisions are presented to the CAC.

V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests.

There were no changes to the order of the agenda. Members gave their Declarations of Interests which are listed on the attached Voting Statistics sheet.

VI. APCO Report

Terry Dressler reported on the changes at the Air Resources Board (ARB), specifically the replacement of the chair, Dr. Robert Sawyer, and resignation of the Executive Officer, Catherine Witherspoon. He said there were conflicting reports on the reasons for the shake-up. The Governor appointed Mary Nichols as chair. Ms. Nichols has served as ARB chair in the past as well as an EPA assistant administrator – air and radiation in the Clinton administration. Mr. Dressler said she has lots of experience and is well respected.

Mr. Dressler reported that at the June 21, 2007 meeting of the APCD Board, the Board voted to <u>not</u> include the Land Use Chapter in the 2007 Clean Air Plan. The vote was: 6 to not include, 4 to include, and 3 members were absent.

VII. New Business

A. Discuss and consider proposed new Rule 1201 – Registration of Agricultural Diesel Engines.

Dr. Ron Tan, of the APCD, gave a presentation explaining that air districts are required to adopt a rule to implement the registration requirements of the State Airborne Toxic Control Measure (ATCM) for stationary compression-ignition engines rated at 50 horsepower or greater. He summarized the rule requirements and reviewed the rule language. Terry Dressler stated that the rule is similar to San Luis Obispo and Ventura APCD's rules. He said that grant funding is available to replace older engines and encouraged early application before the grant funds run out.

There was a discussion regarding remotely located engines and changing engine locations. It was reiterated that all agricultural diesel engines, stationary and portable, rated at 50 brake horsepower or greater are required to be registered. This includes remotely located engines. It was also pointed out that the rule language is directly from the ARB ATCM.

A motion was made to recommend the rule for adoption by the APCD Board as follows: Correct typographical error at Section C,8-c; strike out "any change in location" from Section D,3, if County Counsel review permits this change, if not, CAC accepts the language as it is; and include a definition for "remotely located."

Moldaver/Kober Motion Passed: 7:5:1

Abstain: Peitzke

B. Discuss and consider proposed new Rule 213 – Fees for Registration Programs.

Dr. Tan reviewed the methodology in determining a fee of \$200 as the annual registration fee to be charged all agricultural diesel engines 50 horsepower and greater. He said that this fee, as all APCD fees, may be adjusted annually based on the California Consumer Price Index.

After a brief discussion, a motion was made to recommend to the Board that Rule 213 be adopted.

Moldaver/Kober Motion Passed: 11:0:2

Abstain: Oliver, Wright

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL Voting Statistics July 11, 2007

	VII-A & B	VII-A	VII-B
	Interests	Vote	Vote
T D'			
Tom Banigan	Absent	Absent Absent	Absent Absent
Jayne Brechwald	Absent	Absent	
Ramzi Chaabane	None	Yes	Yes
Marc Chytilo	Absent	Absent	Absent
George Croll	Absent	Absent	Absent
John Deacon	None	No	Yes
Fran Farina	None	No	Yes
John Gilliland	Absent	Absent	Absent
Jim Hickling	Absent	Absent	Absent
Bea Kephart	None	Yes	Yes
Bob Kober	None	Yes	Yes
Tahir Masood	Absent	Absent	Absent
Lee Moldaver	None	Yes	Yes
Glenn Oliver	None	No	Abstain
Bill Peitzke	None	Abstain	Yes
John Robinson	None	Yes	Yes
Bill Shelor	None	Yes	Yes
Patrice Surmeier	None	Yes	Yes
Gary Winters	None	No	Yes
Kevin Wright	Yes	No	Abstain
Roy Zbinden	Absent	Absent	Absent
VOTE:		7:5:1	11:0:2