

ACTION SUMMARY

(Unofficial)

January 15, 2009

Board of Directors

1:30 P.M.

APCD Board Members:

Santa Barbara County
Board of Supervisors
Salud Carbajal, First District
Janet Wolf, Second District, Vice-Chair
Doreen Farr, Third District
Joni Gray, Fourth District
Joe Centeno, Fifth District

City of Buellton Mayor Russ Hicks

City of Carpinteria Councilmember Al Clark

City of Guadalupe Mayor Lupe Alvarez, Chair

City of Goleta Councilmember Eric Onnen

City of Lompoc
Councilmember Cecilia Martner

City of Santa Barbara Mayor Marty Blum

City of Santa Maria Mayor Larry Lavagnino

City of Solvang Mayor Jim Richardson BOARD OF SUPERVISORS HEARING ROOM BETTERAVIA GOVERNMENT CENTER 511 E. LAKESIDE PARKWAY SANTA MARIA, CA

I. 1:30 p.m. - Convene

II. Roll Call – Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

III. Pledge of Allegiance

IV. Call to Order of the 2009 Air Pollution Control District Board of Directors and Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair for 2009

Carbajal/Gray Elected Janet Wolf as Chair to

be seated at the next meeting; and elected Eric Onnen as Vice-

Chair.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf,

Blum, Clark

V. Approval of minutes of the October 16, 2008 meeting

Lavagnino/Carbajal Approved.

Abstain: Farr, Gray, Centeno,

Martner

Absent: Richardson, Wolf,

Blum, Clark

VI. Report from Closed Session

There was no closed session.

VII. Administrative Agenda

Clerk of the APCD Board:

Terence E. Dressler

ADMINISTRATIVE

Approved by roll call vote on one motion These items read only on request of Board members. A-1) Receive and file draft minutes from the October 22, 2008 meeting of the Community Advisory Council.

Gray/Lavagnino Received and filed.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-2) Receive and file summaries of the ten emission-reduction grant agreements approved by the Air Pollution Control Officer for the period of October 2, 2008 through December 31, 2008.

Gray/Lavagnino Received and filed.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-3) Consider recommendation of the APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee to reappoint Donald Ward, a public representative, to the APCD Hearing Board for a three-year term.

Gray/Lavagnino Reappointed Donald Ward to a 3-year term

as a public representative on the Hearing

Board.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-4) Receive and file a report regarding renewal of employee insurance plans and programs.

Gray/Lavagnino Received and filed.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-5) Approve \$300,000 in additional funding allocation for the Agriculture Water Pump Repower Program.

Gray/Lavagnino Approved.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-6) Approve \$300,000 in additional funding allocation for the Off-Road Diesel Repower Program.

Gray/Lavagnino Approved.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

A-7) Authorize the Air Pollution Control Officer to increase the funding amount for the Old Car Buy Back Program by \$150,000 with the option of an additional \$100,000 increase if community interest justifies it.

Gray/Lavagnino Authorized.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Persons desiring to address the APCD Board must complete and deliver to the Clerk the form which is available at the Hearing Room entrance prior to the commencement of this comment period.

Terry Dressler, APCO, introduced David Harris, a new engineer in the APCD Engineering & Compliance Division.

DISCUSSION

1) Adopt and present Resolutions of Appreciation to Brooks Firestone and Will Schuyler for their service on the Air Pollution Control District Board.

Carbajal/Hicks Adopted APCD Resolution No. 09-01 to

Brooks Firestone; and adopted and presented

APCD Resolution 09-02 to Will Schuyler.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

2) Select three members of the Board to serve on the APCD Executive Committee during calendar year 2009.

Carbajal/Onnen Continued to next meeting for further

discussion regarding the process for selecting the Executive Committee.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

3) Appoint one Board member to serve as the representative to the South Central Coast Basinwide Control Council.

Gray/Lavagnino Reappointed Eric Onnen.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

4) Select five members of the Board to serve on the APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee during calendar year 2009.

Gray/Onnen Appointed Board members: Janet Wolf,

Russ Hicks, Doreen Farr, Cecelia Martner,

and Larry Lavagnino.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark

- 5) <u>Hearing</u>: Consider recommendations regarding proposed amended Rule 102 (Definitions) and Rule 316 (Storage and Transfer of Gasoline) as follows:
 - a) Hold a public hearing to receive testimony on proposed amended Rules 102 and 316;
 and
 - b) Adopt a resolution which will result in the following actions:
 - i) Adopt the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) findings (Attachment 1) and the CEQA guidelines;
 - ii) Adopt the associated rule findings (Attachment 2) in support of the proposed amended Rule 316 pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 40727 regarding necessity, authority, clarity, consistency, non-duplication, and reference. The rule findings also acknowledge public comments received on the proposed rule revisions and adopt the Response to Comments (Attachment 3) as findings of the Board; and

iii) Adopt proposed amendments to Rule 102 and 316 (Attachment 4).

Board Chair Lupe Alvarez recused himself due to a conflict of interest regarding family ownership of a gas station. Vice-Chair Onnen then chaired the hearing.

Board member Gray left the meeting.

Carbajal/Martner

- a) Hearing held; there were no public comments; and
- b) Adopted APCD Resolution No. 09-03; which included:
- b-i) CEQA findings;
- b-ii) Associated findings;
- b-iii) Amended Rules 102 and 316.

Absent: Richardson, Wolf, Blum, Clark, Alvarez, Gray

Board Chair Alvarez rejoined the meeting.

Receive and file a report from the Air Pollution Control Officer regarding the status of Santa Barbara County air quality and Air Pollution Control District programs and a preview of issues that the Board may address during the coming year.

Board member Gray rejoined the meeting during the presentation.

Carbajal/Farr

Received and filed.

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 2:20 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Board will be held March 19, 2009 at 1:30 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors Hearing Room, Betteravia Government Center, 511 E. Lakeside Parkway, Santa Maria, CA.