

# **Meeting Minutes** (Unofficial)

# **Community Advisory** Council

**April 27, 2022** 

#### **APCD CAC Members**

Dennis Beebe Janet Blevins Dave Davis Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Jennifer Fullerton Dillon Kass Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Laura Nuzzo Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver John Reaves David Savinsky Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair Jim Taylor Randy Westhaus Murry Wilson

APCD CAC Chair: Aeron Arlin Genet

### REMOTE VIRTUAL PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ONLY

The California State Legislature recently passed, and the Governor signed, Assembly Bill 361 (Rivas, 2021), which amends the Government Code to allow Brown Act bodies to continue to meet remotely if certain elements are met. The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District's Community Advisory Council meeting will temporarily be conducted via video conferencing and telephone.

#### A. Convene

The special meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m.

#### В. Roll Call

Present: Beebe (arrived approx. 4:17 pm, left approx. 4:42

pm), Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Nuzzo (left approx. 5:20 pm), Oakley, Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky, Surmeier, Taylor, Westhaus,

Wilson.

Absent: 3 - Dunn, Lewis, Lopez.

Staff: 7 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Jim Fredrickson, David Harris,

William Sarraff, Tim Mitro, Molly Pearson, Lorena Saldana.

#### C. Consider the Circumstances of the COVID-19 State of Emergency

- Reconsider the circumstances of the COVID-19 state of 1. emergency;
- Consider whether state or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing;
- Find that the legislative body has reconsidered the circumstances of the state of emergency, and that State or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing;
- Direct staff to continue to notice and hold hearings as remote hearings consistent with Government Code § 54953(e)(3).

A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Laura Nuzzo, that the CAC has reconsidered the circumstances of the state of emergency, that State or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing, and directed staff to continue to notice and hold hearings as remote hearings consistent with Government Code § 54953(e)(3). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton,

Kass, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky,

Surmeier, Taylor, Westhaus, Wilson.







Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 4 - Beebe, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez.

### D. CAC Member Introduction.

There were no public comments.

#### E. Election of Vice-Chair.

A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Ben Oakley to appoint Patrice Surmeier as Vice-Chair to the Community Advisory Council. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 15 - Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves,

Savinsky, Surmeier, Taylor, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 4 - Beebe, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez.

**F. Public Comment Period** – Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.

There were no public comments.

## G. Approval of Minutes of the April 28, 2021 meeting.

A motion was made by Patrice Surmeier, seconded by Jennifer Fullerton to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 15 - Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves,

Savinsky, Surmeier, Taylor, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 4 - Beebe, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez.

## H. Organization of Agenda

There was no change to the organization of the agenda.

#### I. APCO Report

Received report.

Dennis Beebe arrived at this time.

- J. NEW BUSINESS Declaration of Interest to be conducted before a vote is taken on any particular item.
  - J-1) Receive and File an update on the Assembly Bill 617 BARCT Analysis for Particulate Matter Control Devices.

Item Received.

J-2) Receive and File an update on the 2022 Ozone Plan.

Item Received.

Dennis Beebe and Laura Nuzzo left at this time.

### K. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

# COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE - 2022

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board	JAN <sup>1</sup> 26	FEB <sup>1</sup>	MAR <sup>1</sup> 23	APR 27	MAY 25	JUN 22	JUL 27	AUG 24	SEP 28	OCT 26	NOV 23	DEC 28
	Member	20	23	23									
Dennis Beebe	Infanti				Yes								
Janet Blevins	Hartmann				Yes								
Dave Davis	Hart				Yes								
Katie Davis	Rowse				Yes								
Cliff Dugger	Nelson				Yes								
Matt Dunn	Perotte				No								
Jennifer Fullerton	Perotte				Yes								
Lee Heller	Hart				*								
Dillon Kass	Patino				Yes								
Donna Lewis	Williams				No								
Michael Lopez	Clark				No								
Laura Nuzzo	Nelson				Yes								
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino				Yes								
Glenn Oliver	Sierra				Yes								
John Reaves	Hartmann				Yes								
David Savinsky	Sierra				Yes								
Patrice Surmeier	Julian				Yes								
Jim Taylor	Clark				Yes								
Randy Westhaus	Patino				Yes								
Murry Wilson	Julian				Yes								

Members Present 16

Members Absent 3

1 There was no CAC meeting.

\* Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended