

# **Community Advisory** Council

## **Meeting Minutes** (Unofficial)

April 28, 2021

### **APCD CAC Members**

Janet Blevins **Dave Davis** Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Jennifer Fullerton Joan Jamieson Dillon Kass Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Lee Moldaver. Vice-Chair Laura Nuzzo Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver John Reaves Roy Reed **David Savinsky** Bill Shelor Patrice Surmeier Jim Taylor Randy Westhaus Murry Wilson

### REMOTE VIRTUAL PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ONLY

Per guidance of California Department of Public Health and the California Governor's Stay at Home Executive Order N-33-20 issued on March 19, 2020 to protect the health and well-being of all Californians and to establish consistency across the state in order to slow the spread of COVID-19, the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District's Community Advisory Council meeting was conducted via video conferencing and telephone.

#### A. Convene

The special meeting was called to order at 4:01 p.m.

#### В. Roll Call

Present: Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Lopez, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky, Shelor (arrived approx. 4:35 p.m.),

Surmeier, Westhaus.

Absent: 6 - Dugger, Jamieson, Moldaver, Reed, Taylor, Wilson.

Staff: 7 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Jim Fredrickson, David Harris, Aimee Long, Tim Mitro, Molly Pearson, Lorena

Saldana.

C. Public Comment Period - Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.

There were no public comments.

#### D. Approval of Minutes of the July 22, 2020 meeting

A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Ben Oakley to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

13 - Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass, Ayes:

Lewis, Lopez, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Surmeier,

Westhaus

Noes: 0 - None.

Abstain: 2 - Reaves, Savinsky.

Absent: Dugger, Jamieson, Moldaver, Reed, Shelor, Taylor,

Wilson.

APCD CAC Chair: Aeron Arlin Genet











### E. Organization of Agenda

There was no change to the organization of the agenda.

## F. APCO Report

Received report.

### G. NEW BUSINESS

Declaration of Interest to be conducted before a vote is taken on any particular item.

- G-1) Discuss and Consider Draft Rule 363 Particulate Matter (PM) Control Devices as follows:
  - a. Concurrent with public workshop, receive presentation on Draft Rule 363;
  - b. Receive public comment on Draft Rule 363;
  - c. Close public workshop;
  - d. Discuss and consider public comments on Draft Rule 363; and,
  - e. Discuss and consider recommending that the District Board of Directors adopt Draft Rule 363 Particulate Matter (PM) Control Devices.

Public workshop held. Following discussion, a motion was made by Patrice Surmeier, seconded by Dave Davis, to continue this item to the next CAC meeting and that the District look into the BLDS reporting and malfunction issues. The motion carried the following vote:

Ayes: 15 - Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Westhaus.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 7 - Dugger, Jamieson, Lopez, Moldaver, Reed, Taylor, Wilson.

Interest: 0 - None.

CAC Member B. Shelor arrived during this item.

### H. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 6:17 p.m.

## COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE – 2021

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board	JAN <sup>1</sup>	FEB <sup>1</sup>	MAR <sup>1</sup>	APR	MAY	JUN	JUL	AUG	SEP	ОСТ	NOV	DEC
	Member	27	24	24	28	26	23	28	25	22	27	24	22
Janet Blevins	Hartmann				Yes								
Dave Davis	Hart				Yes								
Katie Davis	Murillo				Yes								
Cliff Dugger	Nelson				No								
Matt Dunn	Perotte				Yes								
Jennifer Fullerton	Perotte				Yes								
Joan Jamieson	Uhrig				No								
Dillon Kass	Patino				Yes								
Donna Lewis	Williams				Yes								
Michael Lopez	Clark				Yes								
Lee Moldaver	Murillo				No								
Laura Nuzzo	Nelson				Yes								
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino				Yes								
Glenn Oliver	Sierra				Yes								
John Reaves	Hartmann				Yes								
Roy Reed	Lavagnino				No								
David Savinsky	Sierra				Yes								
Bill Shelor	Hart				Yes								
Patrice Surmeier	Julian				Yes								
Jim Taylor	Clark				No								
Randy Westhaus	Patino				Yes								
Murry Wilson	Julian				No								

Members Present 16

Members Absent 6

<sup>1</sup> There was no CAC meeting.

<sup>\*</sup> Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended