

May 16, 2019 Agenda Date: Agenda Placement: Admin Estimated Time: N/A Continued Item: No

# **Board Agenda Item**

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer FROM:

CONTACT: Sara Hunt, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk (805-961-8853)

SUBJECT: Minutes of the November 2018 CAC Meeting

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Receive and file the attached minutes from the November 7, 2018 meeting of the APCD Community Advisory Council.

### DISCUSSION:

The APCD Community Advisory Council (CAC) was formed by Resolution No. 94-281 adopted by the Board of Supervisors on May 24, 1994. The CAC is governed by a Charter and By-Laws and its membership consists of members of the community, appointed by individual APCD Board members. The CAC provides advice to the Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and the APCD Board of Directors in matters related to attainment and maintenance planning, development and promulgation of air pollution control rules and related policy issues. The recommendations of the CAC are advisory in nature and neither the APCO nor the Board is bound by CAC recommendations. The CAC is scheduled to meet the fourth Wednesday of each month, on an as-needed basis when there are matters to be reviewed.

The attached minutes summarize the November 2018 meeting. We provide such minutes to your Board after their approval by the CAC members.

# **ATTACHMENT:**

A. November 7, 2018 CAC Minutes

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer

260 N. San Antonio Rd., Ste. A Santa Barbara, CA 93110 **%** 805.961.8800



Community

Advisory Council

#### Meeting Minutes Official

November 7, 2018

Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 555 McMurray Road Buellton, CA

APCD CAC Members					Buellton, CA						
Janet Blevins Jim Byrne Dr. Inge Cox Dave Davis Katie Davis	I.	<b>Convene – Concurrent with Public Workshop</b> The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.									
Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn											
Shams Hasan	П.	Roll C	all								
Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Lee Moldaver Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver Roy Reed			Present:	19 -	Byrne, Cox, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor (arrived approx. 6:31 pm), Surmeier, Tamura, Teall (arrived approx. 6:39 pm), Walker, Westhaus, Widroe.						
David Savinsky Bill Shelor			Absent:	5 -	Blevins, Hasan, Moldaver, Taylor, Wilson.						
Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair Laurie Tamura Jim Taylor			Staff:	7 -	Aeron Arlin Genet, Molly Pearson, Jim Fredrickson, Tim Mitro, Emily Waddington, David Harris, Lyz Hoffman, Sara Hunt.						
Trey Teall Chad Walker Randy Westhaus	CAC N	lember S	Shelor arriv	ed jus	t after roll call.						
Randy Westhaus Thomas Widroe Murry Wilson	111.	Public Comment Period – Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.									
Murry Wilson		Rece	eived public	; comr	nents.						
	IV.	IV. Approval of Minutes of the January 11, 2018 meeting									
		A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Glenn Oliver, to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.									
			Ayes:	18 -	Byrne, Cox, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura, Walker, Westhaus, Widroe.						
			Noes: Abstain:	0 - 0 -	None.						
APCD CAC Chair:			Abstain. Absent:	0 - 6 -	Blevins, Hasan, Moldaver, Taylor, Teall, Wilson.						
Aeron Arlin Genet											

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer

#### V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests

There was no change to the organization of the agenda. Members gave their Declarations of Interest, which are listed on the attached voting statistics sheet.

#### VI. APCO Report

Received report.

CAC Member Teall arrived during this item.

#### VII. New Business

- A. Discuss and consider the Assembly Bill (AB) 617 Best Available Retrofit Control Technology (BARCT) Implementation Schedule as follows:
  - i. Concurrent with public workshop, receive presentation on the District's proposed AB 617 BARCT Implementation Schedule;
  - ii. Receive public comment on the proposed AB 617 BARCT Implementation Schedule;
  - iii. Close public workshop;
  - iv. Discuss and consider public comments and the proposed AB 617 BARCT Implementation Schedule presented in the staff report; and
  - v. Discuss and consider recommending that the District Board of Directors adopt the proposed AB 617 BARCT Implementation Schedule.

Public Workshop held. Following the Public Workshop, a break was taken from 7:51 p.m. to 7:58 p.m. Following discussion, a motion was made by Laurie Tamura, seconded by Glenn Oliver, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors adopt the proposed AB 617 BARCT Implementation Schedule with changes discussed, including changing the name of Table 1 on page 13 of the Staff Report to "Proposed AB 617 Rule Adoption Schedule" and extend the rule development for Rule 333 from 2020 to 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	18 -	Byrne, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez, Oakley, Oliver,
		Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura, Teall, Walker, Westhaus,
		Widroe.
Nooc	1	Cox

noes:	1 -	Cox.
Abstain:	0 -	None.
Absent:	5 -	Blevins, Hasan, Moldaver, Taylor, Wilson.

#### VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:21 p.m

# COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL Voting Worksheet November 7, 2018

	NUTY A	X / I Y
	VII-A Interests	VII-A Vote
Janet Blevins		
	Absent	Absent
Jim Byrne	No	Yes
Dr. Inge Cox	No	No
Dave Davis	No	Yes
Katie Davis	No	Yes
Cliff Dugger	No	Yes
Matt Dunn	No	Yes
Shams Hasan	Absent	Absent
Donna Lewis	No	Yes
Michael Lopez	No	Yes
Lee Moldaver	Absent	Absent
Ben Oakley	Yes	Yes
Glenn Oliver	No	Yes
Roy Reed	No	Yes
David Savinsky	No	Yes
Bill Shelor	No	Yes
Patrice Surmeier	Yes	Yes
Laurie Tamura	Yes	Yes
Jim Taylor	Absent	Absent
Trey Teall	No	Yes
Chad Walker	No	Yes
Randy Westhaus	No	Yes
Thomas Widroe	Yes	Yes
Murry Wilson	Absent	Absent
Vote:		18:1:0

## COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE – 2018

# A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing	JAN	FEB <sup>1</sup>	MAR <sup>1</sup>	APR <sup>1</sup>	MAY <sup>1</sup>	JUN <sup>1</sup>	JUL <sup>1</sup>	AUG <sup>1</sup>	SEP <sup>1</sup>	OCT <sup>1</sup>	NOV	DEC
	Board Member	11	14	14	25	23	27	25	22	26	24	7	26
Glenn Avolio	Bennett	No										*	
Janet Blevins	Hartmann	Yes										No	
Jim Byrne	Mosby	Yes										Yes	
Dr. Inge Cox	Hartmann	Yes										Yes	
Dave Davis	Wolf	Yes										Yes	
Katie Davis	Schneider	No										Yes	
Cliff Dugger	Adam	Yes										Yes	
Matt Dunn	Bennett	Yes										Yes	
Shams Hasan	Adam	Yes										No	
Bailey Hudson	Patino	No										*	
Donna Lewis	Williams	Yes										Yes	
Michael Lopez	Clark	Yes										Yes	
Lee Moldaver	Schneider	Yes										No	
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino	Yes										Yes	
Glenn Oliver	Sierra	Yes										Yes	
Roy Reed	Lavagnino	Yes										Yes	
David Savinsky	Sierra	Yes										Yes	
Bill Shelor	Wolf	Yes										Yes	
Patrice Surmeier	Lizalde	Yes										Yes	
Laurie Tamura	Mosby	No										Yes	
Jim Taylor	Clark	*										No	
Trey Teall	Williams	Yes										Yes	
Chad Walker	Richardson	*										Yes	
Randy Westhaus	Patino	No										Yes	
Thomas Widroe	Richardson	No										Yes	
Murry Wilson	Lizalde	Yes										No	
Members Present	Members Present 18 19												

Members Absent

6

<sup>1</sup> There was no CAC meeting. \* Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended

5