

Agenda Date: March 15, 2018 Agenda Placement: Admin. Estimated Time: N/A Continued Item: No

# **Board Agenda Item**

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

FROM: Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer

CONTACT: Sara Hunt, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk (805-961-8853)

SUBJECT: Minutes of the February 2017 CAC Meeting

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Receive and file the attached minutes from the February 8, 2017 meeting of the APCD Community Advisory Council.

# **DISCUSSION**:

The APCD Community Advisory Council (CAC) was formed by Resolution No. 94-281 adopted by the Board of Supervisors on May 24, 1994. The CAC is governed by a Charter and By-Laws and its membership consists of members of the community, appointed by individual APCD Board members. The CAC provides advice to the Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and the APCD Board of Directors in matters related to attainment and maintenance planning, development and promulgation of air pollution control rules and related policy issues. The recommendations of the CAC are advisory in nature and neither the APCO nor the Board is bound by CAC recommendations. The CAC is scheduled to meet the second Wednesday of each month, however meetings are subject to cancellation if there are no matters to be reviewed.

The attached minutes summarize the February 2017 meeting. We provide such minutes to your Board after their approval by the CAC members.

# **ATTACHMENTS:**

- February 8, 2017 CAC Minutes



**Bailey Hudson** 

Michael Lopez

Lee Moldaver Ben Oakley

**Glenn Oliver** Roy Reed

**Bill Shelor** Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair

David Savinsky

Laurie Tamura Trey Teall

Randy Westhaus Thomas Widroe

Murry Wilson

Donna Lewis

Our Vision 🏾 Clean Air

Community Advisory Council		February 8, 2017
APCD CAC Members		Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 555 McMurray Road
Glenn Avolio Janet Blevins Jim Byrne		Buellton, CA
Dr. Inge Cox Dave Davis	I.	Convene - The meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m.
Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn	II.	Roll Call
Shams Hasan Bailey Hudson		Present: 19 - Avolio, Blevins, Byrne, Cox, D. Da Hasan Hudson Lopez Moldaver

D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, opez, Moldaver, Oakley (arrived at son, I 6:38 pm), Oliver, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura, Teall, Wilson.

5 - Dugger, Lewis, Reed, Westhaus, Widroe. Absent:

**Meeting Minutes** 

Staff: 6 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Ben Ellenberger, Molly Pearson, Lyz Hoffman, Alex Economou, Sara Hunt.

#### III. **Public Comment Period**

Received public comments.

CAC Member Oakley arrived at this time.

#### IV. Approval of Minutes of the August 10, 2016 meeting

A motion was made by Patrice Surmeier, seconded by Lee Moldaver to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	13 -	Byrne, D. Davis, K. Davis, Hasan, Lopez, Moldaver,
		Oakley, Oliver, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura,
		Wilson.
Noes:	0 -	None.
Abstain:	6 -	Avolio, Blevins, Cox, Dunn, Hudson, Teall.
Absent:	5 -	Dugger, Lewis, Reed, Westhaus, Widroe.

APCD CAC Chair

Aeron Arlin Genet

### V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests

There was no change to the organization of the agenda. Members gave their Declarations of Interest, which are listed on the attached voting statistics sheet.

#### VI. APCO Report

Received report.

### VII. New Business

# A. Discuss and consider non-attainment transitional designation and stationary source control measure implementation schedule.

A motion was made by Glenn Oliver, seconded by Ben Oakley, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors amend the 2016 Ozone Plan Implementation Schedule as outlined in Option 1 of the Nonattainment-Transitional Analysis Report with the amendment that Rules 342, 351 and 354 be moved to a 2020 adoption year. The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes:	9 -	Avolio, Byrne, Dunn, Hasan, Lopez, Oakley, Oliver, Tamura, Wilson.
Noes:	10 -	Blevins, Cox, D. Davis, K. Davis, Hudson, Moldaver, Savinsky, Shelor,
		Surmeier, Teall.
Abstain:	0 -	None.
Absent:	5 -	Dugger, Lewis, Reed, Westhaus, Widroe.

A motion was made by Katie Davis, seconded by Dr. Inge Cox, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors retain the 2016 Ozone Plan Implementation Schedule as outlined in Option 1 of the Nonattainment-Transitional Analysis Report. The motion failed by the following vote:

Ayes:	7 -	Blevins, Cox, D. Davis, K. Davis, Moldaver, Shelor, Teall.
Noes:	12 -	Avolio, Byrne, Dunn, Hasan, Hudson, Lopez, Oakley, Oliver, Savinsky,
		Surmeier, Tamura, Wilson.
Abstain:	0 -	None.
Absent:	5 -	Dugger, Lewis, Reed, Westhaus, Widroe.

A motion was made by Bill Shelor, seconded by Dave Davis, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors amend the 2016 Ozone Plan Implementation Schedule as outlined in Option 2 of the Nonattainment-Transitional Analysis Report. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	16 -	Avolio, Blevins, Byrne, D. Davis, Dunn, Hasan, Hudson, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura, Teall, Wilson.
Noes:	3 -	Cox, K. Davis, Oliver.
Abstain:	0 -	None.
Absent:	5 -	Dugger, Lewis, Reed, Westhaus, Widroe.

### VIII. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 p.m.

# COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL Voting Worksheet February 8, 2017

	VII-A	VII-A (1)	VII-A (2)	VII-A (3)	
	Interests	Vote	Vote	Vote	
Glenn Avolio	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Janet Blevins	No	No	Yes	Yes	
Jim Byrne	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Dr. Inge Cox	No	No	Yes	No	
Dave Davis	No	No	Yes	Yes	
Katie Davis	No	No	Yes	No	
Cliff Dugger	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Matt Dunn	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Shams Hasan	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	
Bailey Hudson	No	No	No	Yes	
Donna Lewis	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Michael Lopez	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Lee Moldaver	No	No	Yes	Yes	
Ben Oakley	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	
Glenn Oliver	Yes	Yes	No	No	
Roy Reed	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
David Savinsky	Yes	No	No	Yes	
Bill Shelor	No	No	Yes	Yes	
Patrice Surmeier	Yes	No	No	Yes	
Laurie Tamura	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	
Trey Teall	No	No	Yes	Yes	
Randy Westhaus	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Thomas Widroe	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Murry Wilson	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	
Vote:		9:10:0	7:12:0	16:3:0	

## COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE – 2017

### A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing	JAN <sup>1</sup>	FEB	MAR	APR	MAY	JUN	JUL	AUG	SEP	ОСТ	NOV	DEC
	Board Member	11	8	8	12	10	14	12	9	13	11	8	13
Glenn Avolio	Bennett		Yes										
Janet Blevins	Hartmann		Yes										
Jim Byrne	Mosby		Yes										
Dr. Inge Cox	Hartmann		Yes										
Dave Davis	Wolf		Yes										
Katie Davis	Schneider		Yes										
Cliff Dugger	Adam		No										
Matt Dunn	Bennett		Yes										
Shams Hasan	Adam		Yes										
Bailey Hudson	Patino		Yes										
Donna Lewis	Williams		No										
Michael Lopez	Clark		Yes										
Lee Moldaver	Schneider		Yes										
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino		Yes										
Glenn Oliver	Sierra		Yes										
Roy Reed	Lavagnino		No										
David Savinsky	Sierra		Yes										
Bill Shelor	Wolf		Yes										
Patrice Surmeier	Lizalde		Yes										
Laurie Tamura	Mosby		Yes										
Trey Teall	Williams		Yes										
Randy Westhaus	Patino		No										
Thomas Widroe	Richardson		No										
Murry Wilson	Lizalde		Yes										

**Members Present** 

19

Members Absent

5

<sup>1</sup> There was no CAC meeting. \* Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended