

Agenda Date: January 19, 2017 Agenda Placement: Regular Estimated Time: 5 minutes Continued Item: No

Board Agenda Item

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

FROM: Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer

CONTACT: Sara Hunt, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk (961-8853)

SUBJECT: APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee

RECOMMENDATION:

Select five members of the Board to serve on the APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee during calendar year 2017.

DISCUSSION:

On February 15, 1996, your Board adopted a resolution to annually establish a standing, five member Hearing Board nominating committee, with a representative from each supervisorial district, which would make nominations for appointment to the APCD Hearing Board. The Final decisions of Hearing Board appointments are made by the full Board.

The Hearing Board Nominating Committee will need to meet several times during the calendar year to discuss the expiring terms of:

- David Schmarje, the Engineering representative, term scheduled to expire in May 2017
- Robert Saperstein, the Legal representative, term scheduled to expire in October 2017
- Donald Ward, a Public representative, term scheduled to expire in March 2018

Members Schmarje and Ward have indicated they will be retiring at the end of their terms, therefore recruitments will need to be opened several months beforehand in order to fill those positions. A typical Hearing Board member recruitment is conducted over 2 meetings, first to give recruitment parameters to the Clerk, and then to conduct interviews. After which time a candidate is brought to the full Board for consideration. Due to the number of expiring terms, it

is anticipated the Nominating Committee will need to meet at least 3 times over the course of the year.

At this time, your Board is requested to select the Hearing Board Nominating Committee to serve during calendar year 2017. The previous three years of nominating committees consisted of:

District	2016	2015	2014
First	Salud Carbajal	Salud Carbajal	Salud Carbajal
Second	Michael T. Bennett	Michael T. Bennett	Michael T. Bennett
Third	Jim Richardson	Jim Richardson	Jim Richardson
Fourth	Peter Adam	Peter Adam	Peter Adam
Fifth	Alice Patino	Alice Patino	Alice Patino