

draft

Meeting Minutes

Community Advisory Council

December 9, 2015

APCD CAC Members

Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 555 McMurray Road Buellton, CA

Joe Armendariz Glenn Avolio Janet Blevins Jim Byrne Dr. Inge Cox Dave Davis Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Marty Hall-Burr Bailey Hudson Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Lee Moldaver Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver Bill Peitzke Roy Reed David Savinsky Bill Shelor Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair Laurie Tamura

Randy Westhaus

Thomas Widroe Murry Wilson

- I. Convene The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.
- II. Roll Call

Present: 22 - Avolio (left at 9:04p), Blevins, Byrne, Cox (arrived at 6:48p), D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hall-Burr

(left at 9:04p), Hudson (left at 9:04p), Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Peitzke, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor (arrived at 6:33p), Surmeier, Tamura (left at

8:53p), Wilson (arrived at 6:33p).

Absent: 3 - Armendariz, Westhaus, Widroe.

Staff: 7 - Dave Van Mullem, Michael Goldman, David Harris,

Molly Pearson, Tim Mitro, Leticia Ortiz, Sara Hunt.

III. Public Comment Period

Public comments were received.

CAC Members Shelor and Wilson arrived at this time.

IV. Approval of Minutes of the October 14, 2015 meeting

A motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Patrice Surmeier to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 20 - Avolio, Blevins, Byrne, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger,

Dunn, Hudson, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Peitzke, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier,

Tamura, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 1 - Hall-Burr.

Absent: 4 - Armendariz, Cox, Westhaus, Widroe.

APCD CAC Chair

Louis D. Van Mullem, Jr.

V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests

There was no change to the organization of the agenda. Members gave their Declarations of Interest, which are listed on the attached voting statistics sheet.

VI. APCO Report

Dave Van Mullem, APCO, informed CAC members that the APCD Board would be meeting on December 17 and one item to be considered is a proposed contract for the APCO position. Mr. Van Mullem then gave a brief background on agenda item VII-A and introduced staff.

CAC Member Cox arrived at this time.

VII. New Business

- A. Discuss and consider recommending that the APCD Board of Directors adopt amendments to the New Source Review Program as follows:
 - 1. Amended Rule 102, Definitions,
 - 2. Amended Rule 105, Applicability
 - 3. Amended Rule 202, Exemptions to Rule 201
 - 4. Amended Rule 204, Applications
 - 5. Amended Rule 801, New Source Review Definitions and General Requirements
 - 6. Amended Rule 802, New Source Review
 - 7. Repeal of Rule 803, Prevention of Significant Deterioration
 - 8. Amended Rule 804, Offsets
 - 9. Amended Rule 805, Air Quality Impact Analysis, Modeling, Monitoring, and Air Quality Increment Consumption
 - 10. Amended Rule 806, New Source Review Emission Reduction Credits
 - 11. Proposed Rule 809, Federal Minor Source New Source Review
 - 12. Amended Rule 1301, Part 70 Operating Permits General Information

Michael Goldman, Engineering Division Manager at the APCD, gave members an overview of New Source Review Program, the roles ARB and EPA play, and a summary description of the rules being considered. Staff received comments and addressed questions from CAC members.

A motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Glenn Oliver to recommend that the APCD Board adopt amendments to the New Source Review Program. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 16 - Blevins, Byrne, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Peitzke, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Wilson.

Noes: 2 - Cox, K. Davis.

Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 7 - Armendariz, Avolio, Hall-Burr, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.

VIII. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 9:19 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL Voting Worksheet December 9, 2015

	VII-A	VII-A
	Interests	Vote
Joe Armendariz	Absent	Absent
Glenn Avolio	No	Absent
Janet Blevins	No	Yes
Jim Byrne	No	Yes
Dr. Inge Cox	No	No
Dave Davis	No	Yes
Katie Davis	No	No
Cliff Dugger	Yes	Yes
Matt Dunn	No	Yes
Marty Hall-Burr	No	Absent
Bailey Hudson	No	Absent
Donna Lewis	No	Yes
Michael Lopez	No	Yes
Lee Moldaver	No	Yes
Ben Oakley	Yes	Yes
Glenn Oliver	Yes	Yes
Bill Peitzke	No	Yes
Roy Reed	Yes	Yes
David Savinsky	Yes	Yes
Bill Shelor	No	Yes
Patrice Surmeier	Yes	Yes
Laurie Tamura	Yes	Absent
Randy Westhaus	Absent	Absent
Thomas Widroe	Absent	Absent
Murry Wilson	Yes	Yes
Vote:		16:2:0

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE - 2015

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board	JAN ¹	FEB ¹	MAR	APR ¹	MAY ¹	JUN ¹	JUL ¹	AUG ¹	SEP ¹	OCT	NOV ¹	DEC
	Member	14	11	25	8	13	10	8	12	9	14	11	9
Joe Armendariz	Richardson			Yes							No		No
Glenn Avolio	Bennett			Yes							No		Yes
Janet Blevins	Farr			Yes							Yes		Yes
Jim Byrne	Holmdahl			Yes							No		Yes
Dr. Inge Cox	Farr			Yes							Yes		Yes
Dave Davis	Wolf			Yes							Yes		Yes
Katie Davis	Schneider			Yes							Yes		Yes
Cliff Dugger	Adam			No							Yes		Yes
Matt Dunn	Bennett			Yes							Yes		Yes
Marty Hall-Burr	Adam			Yes							No		Yes
Bailey Hudson	Patino			Yes							Yes		Yes
Terry Hurst	Lavagnino			Yes							*		*
Bob Kober	Lizalde			Yes							*		*
Donna Lewis	Carbajal			Yes							Yes		Yes
Michael Lopez	Clark			Yes							No		Yes
Lee Moldaver	Schneider			Yes							Yes		Yes
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino			Yes							Yes		Yes
Glenn Oliver	Sierra			Yes							Yes		Yes
Bill Peitzke	Carbajal			No							No		Yes
Roy Reed	Lavagnino			*							Yes		Yes
David Savinsky	Sierra			Yes							Yes		Yes
Bill Shelor	Wolf			Yes							Yes		Yes
Josh Simmons	Richardson			No							*		*
Patrice Surmeier	Lizalde			Yes							Yes		Yes
Laurie Tamura	Holmdahl			Yes							Yes		Yes
Randy Westhaus	Patino			Yes							No		No
Thomas Widroe	Richardson			*							*		No
Murry Wilson	Lizalde			*							Yes		Yes

22

3

¹ There was no CAC meeting.

Members Present

Members Absent

17

7

22

3

^{*} Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended