

draft

Meeting Minutes

Community Advisory Council

October 14, 2015

APCD CAC Members

Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 555 McMurray Road Buellton, CA

Joe Armendariz Glenn Avolio Janet Blevins Jim Byrne Dr. Inge Cox Dave Davis Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Marty Hall-Burr Bailey Hudson Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Lee Moldaver Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver Bill Peitzke David Savinsky Bill Shelor

Josh Simmons

Vice-Chair Laurie Tamura

Patrice Surmeier.

Randy Westhaus Murry Wilson I. Convene - The meeting was called to order at 6:34 p.m.

New CAC member was introduced: Roy Reed (Board member Lavagnino).

II. Roll Call

Present: 17 - Blevins (arrived just after rollcall), Cox, D. Davis,

K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hudson, Lewis, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura (arrived just after the APCO report), Wilson.

Absent: 7 - Armendariz, Avolio, Byrne, Hall-Burr, Lopez, Peitzke,

Westhaus.

Staff: 6 - Dave Van Mullem, Ben Ellenberger, Molly Pearson,

Lyz Hoffman, Tim Mitro, Sara Hunt.

III. Public Comment Period

There were no public comments.

IV. Approval of Minutes of the March 25, 2015 meeting

A motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Matt Dunn to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 17 - Blevins, Cox, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dugger, Dunn,

Hudson, Lewis, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Tamura, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 7 - Armendariz, Avolio, Byrne, Hall-Burr, Lopez, Peitzke,

Westhaus.

APCD CAC Chair

Louis D. Van Mullem, Jr.

V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests

There was no change to the organization of the agenda. Since no vote would be taken, it was not necessary to do a declaration of interests.

VI. APCO Report

Dave Van Mullem, APCO, informed CAC members that his tenure with the APCD will be ending in January when his contract ends. Mr. Van Mullem then introduced the evening speakers, Angela Antenore and William M. Dillon.

VII. New Business

A. Receive presentation of overview on CAC and related Brown Act and Conflict of Interest procedures and requirements.

William M. Dillon, Santa Barbara County Senior Deputy County Council, gave members a presentation on the overview of how the CAC was formed, as well as reviewed meeting procedures, the Brown Act and financial disclosure.

B. Receive briefing from staff on upcoming CAC agenda items and rule development process.

Ben Ellenberger, TEA Manager at the APCD, gave a brief overview of what CAC members will be seeing over the next year including rule revisions and the 2016 Clean Air Plan, as well as the CAC's roll in the development of these items.

C. Consensus Decision Making Workshop.

The CAC Bylaws, Article III states that the CAC "shall make every attempt to develop all recommendations by consensus". Angela Antenore, of Antenore & Associates, reviewed with members the purpose of the CAC and opened a dialog and training to help members better understand how consensus decision making works.

VIII. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE - 2015

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board Member	JAN¹ 14	FEB ¹	MAR 25	APR ¹	MAY ¹ 13	JUN ¹ 10	JUL¹ 8	AUG ¹	SEP ¹	OCT 14	NOV 11	DEC 9
Joe Armendariz	Richardson			Yes							No		
Glenn Avolio	Bennett			Yes							No		
Janet Blevins	Farr			Yes							Yes		
Jim Byrne	Holmdahl			Yes							No		
Dr. Inge Cox	Farr			Yes							Yes		
Dave Davis	Wolf			Yes							Yes		
Katie Davis	Schneider			Yes							Yes		
Cliff Dugger	Adam			No							Yes		
Matt Dunn	Bennett			Yes							Yes		
Marty Hall-Burr	Adam			Yes							No		
Bailey Hudson	Patino			Yes							Yes		
Terry Hurst	Lavagnino			Yes							*		
Bob Kober	Lizalde			Yes							*		
Donna Lewis	Carbajal			Yes							Yes		
Michael Lopez	Clark			Yes							No		
Lee Moldaver	Schneider			Yes							Yes		
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino			Yes							Yes		
Glenn Oliver	Sierra			Yes							Yes		
Bill Peitzke	Carbajal			No							No		
Roy Reed	Lavagnino			*							Yes		
David Savinsky	Sierra			Yes							Yes		
Bill Shelor	Wolf			Yes							Yes		
Josh Simmons	Richardson			No							*		
Patrice Surmeier	Lizalde			Yes							Yes		
Laurie Tamura	Holmdahl			Yes							Yes		
Randy Westhaus	Patino			Yes							No		
Murry Wilson	Lizalde			*							Yes		

Members Present 22 17 Members Absent 3 7

 ¹ There was no CAC meeting.
* Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended