

Agenda Date:FebruaryAgenda Placement:RegularEstimated Time:5 minuteContinued Item:No

February 20, 2014 Regular 5 minutes No

## **Board Agenda Item**

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

FROM: Dave Van Mullem, Air Pollution Control Officer

CONTACT: Sara Hunt, 961-8853

SUBJECT: APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Select five members of the Board to serve on the APCD Hearing Board Nominating Committee during calendar year 2014.

## DISCUSSION:

On February 15, 1996, your Board adopted a resolution to annually establish a standing, five member Hearing Board nominating committee, with a representative from each supervisorial districts, which would make nominations for appointment to the APCD Hearing Board. The Final decisions of Hearing Board appointments are made by the full Board.

At this time, your Board is requested to select the Hearing Board Nominating Committee to serve during calendar year 2014.

The following actions will be required of the Hearing Board Nominating Committee during the calendar year:

• The 2013 Hearing Board Nominating Committee met on December 19, 2013 to discuss the expiring term of Hearing Board member, David Schmarje, the Engineer representative, and requested a recruitment be opened to allow for new applicants for the position. The recruitment has been opened and Nominating Committee is tentatively scheduled to conduct interviews on March 20, 2014 in Santa Maria, following the regular meeting of the APCD Board. At the conclusion of those interviews, the Nominating Committee will deliberate to either recommend that the APCD Board fill the Engineer position on the Hearing Board with a new member, renew Mr. Schmarje's term, or reopen the recruitment.

• The term of Hearing Board member, Robert J. Saperstein, the Legal representative, is scheduled to expire in August 2014. The Hearing Board Nominating Committee will need to meet at least once to discuss Mr. Saperstein's term on the Hearing Board.

District	2013	2012	2011
First		Kathleen Reddington	Kathleen Reddington
Second	Janet Wolf / Roger Aceves	Roger Aceves	Roger Aceves
Third	Jim Richardson	Doreen Farr	Doreen Farr
Fourth	Peter Adam	Cecilia Martner	Cecilia Martner
Fifth	Steve Lavagnino	Larry Lavagnino	Larry Lavagnino

The previous three years of nominating committees consisted of: